Click to Home
Go To Search
Planning Commission
The Planning Commission meets the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the Municipal Building.

2017 Agendas    
  • May, 16 2017

    2017 Minutes
    2014 Agendas and Minutes
    2013 Agendas and Minutes

    Function & Authority

    The Planning Commission was created and established in order to guide and accomplish a coordinated and harmonious development of the municipality which will, in accordance with existing and future needs, best promote public health, safety, morals, order, convenience, prosperity and the general welfare as well as efficiency and economy in the process of development.

    The powers of the planning commission are to prepare and adopt a general use pland, make advisory reports and recommendations, mandatory referral to review and comment on any public project, review subdivision regulations and site plans, prepare and recommend a zoning ordinance and map, and review amendments to the zoning ordinance or map. 


    The municipal planning commission shall consist of nine (9) members. One of the members shall be the mayor, or his designee, excluding city employees, one shall be a council member selected by the city council, and the seven (7) remaining members shall be citizens, appointed by the mayor. Any vacancy on an appointive membership shall be filled for the unexpired term by the mayor, who shall have the authority to remove any appointive member for sufficient and just reason. The term of the member selected from the city council shall run concurrently with his membership on the city council. All members shall serve without compensation. 

    The nine members of the Planning Commission serve three-year staggered terms.

    Members & Expiration

    Clarke Taylor (For Mayor)
    David May, Jr. (Council member)

    • Walt Vineyard
    • Gary Dennis
    • Larry Presswood
    • Tricia Pennington (Vice Chairman)
    • Maryl Elliot
    • Dee Burris
    • Bill Hamilton

    Planning Commission Staff
    The Planning Commission has been staffed by the Development and Engineering Department of the City of Cleveland and may be reached at 423-479-1913.